Who Are the Real Mennonites

WHO ARE THE REAL MENNONITES???
Is it the largest Conference? the biggest congregation? the fastest growing group or congregation? the group with the least amount of divorces? the ones with the most missionaries? the plainest group? the largest outreach budget? the most charismatic worship services? those that adhere closest to the Schleitheim and Dordrecht Confession of Faith? or those that adhere to the most modern version of a Confession of Faith? Is it the “Old Order” way or alternatively those Mennonites and Amish who embrace the “Great Commission” more so than being really separated from the world?

What is a real historically based Mennonite or Amish? Can I give you the answer in one single sentence or will it take a whole book??? Please respond and let me know what your thoughts are, my dear fellow pilgrims.

My “one line answer”  would be;  Genuine Mennonites and Amish are; Awesome Christians with a passionate focus on certain parts of the Bible with regards to being separate AND different from “the world”.

The Beginning Starting in the 16th Century
Back in the Reformation era the Mennonites were formed out of those who categorically refused to baptize their children as infants. In those days the kings, queens and their subordinates and designates and the State Religion stipulated infant Baptism was law. So course you can imagine how horrified the rulers and the designated Church leaders were when they found out that the so called Anabaptist’s not only refused to baptize their infants, but they actually advocated passionately for ADULT baptism!

After the 17th. And 18th. Century
After this separation from state religion and after the Amish and the Mennonites became settled in a more religiously free country they decided to NOT ONLY stay separate but to make rules and regulations amongst themselves to keep order within their congregations. This was in addition to adhering to the ancestors Confession of Faith (the 1527 Schleitheim Articles and the Dordrecht Confession of 1632)

The most influential verse from the Bible which Mennonites and Amish have focused on AFTER THE REFORMATION , is from Romans 12:2 which states “ And be not conformed to this world: but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind, that ye may prove what is that good, and acceptable, and perfect, will of God.”

Most Mennonites and Amish are also very keenly interested in the book of ACTS AND look to their leaders for deep Biblical wisdom.

I find it so ironic that it took me personally almost 45 years before I would invest any time studying Ezekiel or Daniel and especially Revelations. I admit my thoughts were, that I was simply not wise or intelligent enough to be able to understand. (not proper or good reasoning at all)

In my “55 year plus” pilgrimage, I have documented and actually walked on all the property/land where my Mennonite ancestors farmed, from my dearly departed father directly backwards in time for 11 generations and I have visited all their meetinghouses. As a matter of fact because I speak the “old dialect” I even had the distinct pleasure of joining worship services atin the meetinghouses where all of these ancestors worshiped. I have documented proof that every single one of my paternal forefathers going back to 1669 were Mennonite Farmers. I am Blessed to reside and own my father’s farm which was the homestead farm for many generations (since 1830) from the Martin Mennonite Family who came to Canada in the early 1800’s from Weaverland PA.

me in the snow at the front of hose

So the question, does everything I have explained above make me a genuine Mennonite? Certainly from a pedigree perspective I am a Genuine Mennonite…and I should be Genuine Mennonite especially if one considers all the MARTIN Mennonite Bishops and ministers and deacons included my direct paternal and maternal lines. In my paternal line alone, these include Bishop Henry Martin 1741-1825 and Bishop Jonas H. Martin 1839-1925 of the Lancaster Mennonites and Canadian Bishop Abraham W. Martin 1834-1902 and Bishop David B. Martin 1838-1920 and Bishop Paul S. Martin 1849-1914 and Bishop Ezra L. Martin 1858-1939 and Bishop Jesse B. Martin 1897-1974 and Bishop Amsey M. Martin 1899-1985 and Bishop Leighton M. Martin of the Ontario Mennonites. The most influential Ontario Deacons were David Z. Martin 1815-1894 and Moses W. Martin 1832-1887. My own dear father was nominated deacon and for minister and went through the lot 3 times and he actually told me that he was spared by God of the weighty responsibility which he felt he was unworthy of. Every single generation of these ancestors were amazingly good people and they all left a good legacy both materially and spiritually…Now for the bad news

THE BAD NEWS
Here is the bad news if one wants to call it that…I always felt dwarfed, substantively and spiritually by my father and all the Mennonites around me in all directions and all my ancestors. More bad news, I did not even become a Christian till 1988…(about 11 years later than what is considered normal) On a personal note; I resided with my parents on the home farm for almost my whole life and quite frankly my parents had such an awesome Christian marriage that there was actually only one single time I am aware where they did not automatically agree about everything…and it was one time/one day when something came up about me. My parents NEVER disagreed, so this one time, when they did not automatically agree shocked me. (another story for later) More bad news, my dear father and mentor and my best friend died Christmas eve 2002 and my dear mother died Nov. 2009. The 11 bedroom homestead is really empty nowadays and I have been relegated to having someone else farm my forefathers land as of late. More bad news…I have NEVER been into any form of political correctness. If you are looking for a “passive Mennonite blog” my page will probably disappoint you. I personally, am completely convinced that the Biblical reference “turning the other cheek” does NOT MEAN mean being someone’s door-mat (or to facilitate any worldly domination)!

I have always known that I AM NOT a typical good “Old Order” Mennonite AND I am not a typical good “New Mennonite” however since I became a Christian, I deeply cherish and respect Mennonites and Amish and being separate from the world. Mennonites and Amish indeed have a really goodly heritage just like the Bible states at Psalm 16:6 “The lines are fallen unto me in pleasant places; yea, I have a goodly heritage”.

Dad and I and Jennie

HERE IS THE GOOD NEWS
I cherish being separate from “the world” and I wholeheartedly embrace “the great commission”.

Ironically I did not realize the TRUTH till another 10 years after my belated baptism. IT TOOK ME MANY YEARS to realize that I was supposed to be a GENUINE CHRISTIAN, above everything else (including being Mennonite). This is Gods Purpose for me and ALL Mennonites and Amish as well.

TRUTH = FREEDOM and may God Bless YOU and me and Protect You and me from evil!

3 thoughts on “Who Are the Real Mennonites

  1. Unfortunately, many Mennonites and Amish view being “separate from the world” to mean only looking different. I also did not surrender my life to the Lord until I was older. And yet, I was a Mennonite in good standing during many years of living a sinful life. Much about our belief system is based more on culture and looking right to the world around us rather than BEING right with God.

    I believe God is at work among our people though and we will soon see His Spirit moving and reviving our people. His Spirit will breath life into our dry bones and change us from being a people of fear into a people having a radical boldness for Him once again.

    Many of us have “goodly heritages” and we need to be thankful for it, but at the same time, seek to change those areas that need change so we can pass on a Godly heritage to the generation coming after us. It is so good to take a look back to see where we have been to note the good things and teach them to others; but then also to guard against the negative things in our heritage as well.

    You seem to love history even more than I and I bless you in your endeavors as you study and write of what you have learned! I will be looking forward to your next post.

    Like

  2. Thank You for your kind words. Your willingness to step out of the box and think of being more like Jesus (rather than just being a good Mennonite) is definitely akin to bringing that light out from under the bushel basket. We all know what will happen when the bushel basket gets old and brittle…it is definitely going to explode in flames and the candle will melt and the wick will be burn up all at once and then there will soon be no more light at all. I kinda remember reading somewhere some work you and others have done comparing the Ordinances etc. and Confessions Of Faith…that is excellent work.

    Research of all the old old congregations going back to the original Lancaster and Franconia Conferences and Congregations and all the key leaders and of course all the schisms in Ontario and the different schisms in both groups can teach us excellent lessons using hindsight. I have found throughout, that many of the Mennonite leaders (on both sides of an issue) were really good at identifying the true issues at stake, however it is evident that Christian Love was always lacking on both sides; before, during and after when schisms occurred…when the going got tough, things were done the Mennonite/Amish way…”Ways and means” were usually threshed out and above all (even Christian Love) ORDER was established. Us Mennonites have a well established understanding that God is a God of order… but if we meditate we will know God IS LOVE. All of Gods attributes including “order” , justice, law etc are underlying His actual Being; which is LOVE!

    I will be writing a lot about the Mennonite schisms in my blog because in almost all the schisms I find myself having very PASSIONATE feelings for both sides in the dispute. Both sides had valid arguments however the long-term results for both sides are just simply heartbreaking .

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Can I just say what a reduction to find somebody who actually is aware of what theyre speaking about on the internet. You definitely know the right way to carry an issue to gentle and make it important. More folks need to read this and perceive this side of the story. I cant imagine youre no more common since you definitely have the gift.

    Like

Leave a comment